

JASPER COUNTY COURTHOUSE DEISN COMMITTEE MINUTES OF APRIL 17, 2025

A Courthouse Design Committee Meeting of the Jasper County Board was held on Thursday, April 17, 2025, at 4:30 p.m. at the Jasper County Building, Board Room, 204 West Washington Street, Newton, Illinois. The following committee members were present: Committee Chairman Michael Geier, Eric Spiker, James Judson, AC Pickens, Judge Chad Miller, Sheriff Brandon Francis, State's Attorney James Treccia, and Circuit Clerk Jamie Blake. County Board Chairman Jason Warfel, Vice Chairman Ron Heltsley, Board Members Austin Francis, Jessica Schackmann and Doug Weddell were also present. Additionally, Jason Wright and Tim Raibley with ADG and John Stone and Shannon Woodard with Stone and Waggoner and Dora Griffith, County Probation Officer were present.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m. by Chairman Geier.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no comments from the public.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

There were no changes or objections to the agenda, the agenda was adopted as distributed.

OLD BUSINESS

Courthouse Design Discussion

Chairman Geier updated the committee on the design process since the last meeting.

CLOSED/EXECUTIVE SESSION

Committee Member Eric Spiker moved to adjourn to Closed/Executive Session at 4:34 p.m. under the following exemption: Security Procedures 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(8). Committee Member A.C. Pickens seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

RESUME OPEN SESSION

The Committee resumed open session at 5:36 p.m.

NEW BUSINESS

Courthouse Design Recommendation

Committee Member James Judson moved to recommend the preliminary Jasper County Courthouse Design presented by ADG to County Board for consideration. Committee Member A.C. Pickens seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

ADJOURNMENT

Committee Member Eric Spiker moved to adjourn the committee meeting at 5:38 p.m. Sherif Francis seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

No additional meeting has been scheduled at this time.

Jason Warfel, Jasper County Board Chairman