

Courthouse Design Committee Minutes

January 29th, 2025 3pm County Board Room

A Courthouse Design Committee Meeting of the Jasper County Board was held on Thursday, January 9, 2025, at 4:30 p.m. at the Jasper County Building, Board Room, 204 West Washington Street, Newton, Illinois. The following committee members were present: Committee Chairman Michael Geier, AC Pickens, Eric Spiker, Circuit Clerk Jamie Blake, Sheriff Brandon Francis, James Judson & State's Attorney James Treccia. Resident Judge Chad Miller was absent. Also in attendance was Board Chairman Jason Warfel (via Zoom), Jessica Schackmann (via Zoom), County Clerk Amy Tarr, Treasurer Clinton Bigard, Assessor Tom Matson, Amy Frohning, Doug Weddell & Ron Heltsley.

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Chairman Geier.

PUBLIC COMMENTS:

There were no comments from the public.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA:

There were no changes or objections to the agenda.

Business to discuss was courthouse office relocation. Circuit Clerk Blake and State's Attorney Treccia agreed to relocate to the Health Annex building located on South Van Buren. Amy Frohning volunteered to vacate her office in the Regional Office of Education (ROE) and move into the Board of Review room. Probation would move into the ROE offices. County Clerk Amy Tarr's private office would be office space for miscellaneous use by courthouse personnel.

Treasurer discussed courtroom procedures on court days and County Board member Spiker spoke about IT needs for the various offices once they relocate.

Blake stated she would need additional space for records storage and Pickens recommended the county rent a storage container.

ADJOURNMENT:

Committee Member Judson moved to adjourn the meeting at 3:50pm which was seconded by Sheriff Francies. The motion carried on a voice vote.

AC Pickens • Michael Geier • James Judson • Eric Spiker Chad Miller • James Treccia • Brandon Francis • Jamie Blake