

# JASPER COUNTY COURTHOUSE DEISN COMMITTEE MINUTES OF JANUARY 9, 2025

A Courthouse Design Committee Meeting of the Jasper County Board was held on Thursday, January 9, 2025, at 4:30 p.m. at the Jasper County Building, Board Room, 204 West Washington Street, Newton, Illinois. The following committee members were present: Committee Chairman Michael Geier, Eric Spiker, James Judson, AC Pickens, Judge Chad Miller, Sheriff Brandon Francis, State's Attorney James Treccia. Circuit Clerk Jamie Blake was absent. County Board Chairman Jason Warfel was also present. Additionally, Jason Wright and Tim Ribley with ADG and John Stone and Shannon Woodard with Stone and Waggoner were present.

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m. by Chairman Geier.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no comments from the public.

#### ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

There were no changes or objections to the agenda, the agenda was adopted as distributed.

## **UPDATES**

Chairman Geier updated the committee on the design process since the last meeting. Geier stated that there were two options before the Committee and the County Board. The first option was to do nothing and let the future burden of the building and the repair cost and upkeep fall on subsequent generations. The second option was to use the Energy Transition Grant Funds to offset the bulk of the costs of the new Courthouse.

#### **CLOSED/EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Committee Member James Judson moved to adjourn to Closed/Executive Session at 4:40 p.m. under the following exemption: Security Procedures 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(8). Committee Member Eric Spiker seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Committee Member AC Pickens moved to adjourn the executive session and meeting at 5:35 p.m. Sherif Francis seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

No additional meeting has been scheduled at this time.

Jason Warfel, Jasper County Board Chairman