

JASPER COUNTY BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 2, 2024

The Jasper County Board Organizational Meeting was held on Monday, December 2, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. at the Jasper County Building, Board Room, 204 West Washington Street, Newton, Illinois. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair Pro-Tem (State's Attorney James Treccia). State's Attorney Treccia led a moment in silence and the Pledge of Allegiance. Jasper County Resident Judge Chad Miller was present to swear-in our newly elected Board Members Austin Francis, Jessica Schackmann and Eric Spiker.

The following board members were present: Austin Francis, Michael Geier, Ron Heltsley, James Judson, AC Pickens, Jessica Schackmann, Eric Spiker, and Jason Warfel. Doug Weddell was absent.

Adoption of the agenda. There was no objection, the agenda was adopted as distributed.

Adoption Of Revised Board Rules & Procedures

Attached in the Board Packet were the revised Jasper County Board Rules and Procedures. Changes include:

Special/Emergency Meetings (Page 6) – Current requirement was 2/3 of the board needed to call a special meeting. Illinois Law only requires 1/3 and the chair can also call a special/emergency meeting.

Roberts Rules of Order (Page 7) – UCCI recommends changing this to "shall be used as a guide" the County Board is not required to follow any rules of order. The old language made it appear that the County Board MUST and there may be times the County Board deviates from Roberts Rules of Order.

In-Person Attendance (Page 7) – "Unexpected Childcare Obligations" conforms to the changes in the State Law. Additionally, the County Board needs clarification on remote attendance to a closed/executive session (currently our rules do not say one way or another), the revised language states that remote attendance for a closed session is not permitted. If a situation arose that the board needed to permit remote attendance to a Closed Session, the rules of the Board can be suspended by a two-thirds vote of members present.

Public Comments (Page 10) – The County Board is permitted to limit the overall time but suggests at least 30 minutes. By limiting the overall time, the County Board changes per speaker from 5 to 3 minutes.

Discover Downstate Illinois (Page 13) – The new name to our regional tourism board.

Heltsley made a motion to adopt the revised Jasper County Board Rules and Procedures. Spiker seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote. The revised Jasper County Board Rules and Procedures were adopted.

Election Of Chair

Treccia asked for nominations for the office of Chair of the Jasper County Board. Heltlsey nominated Jason Warfel for Chair of the Jasper County Board. There were no additional nominations. Warfel was nominated for office of Chair of the Jasper County Board. The nomination passed on a voice vote. Jason Warfel was elected Chair of the Jasper County Board.

Election Of Vice-Chair

Treccia asked for nominations for the office of Vice-Chair of the Jasper County Board. Geier nominated Ronald Heltsley for Vice-Chair of the Jasper County Board. There were no additional nominations.

Ronald Heltsley was nominated for office of Vice-Chair of the Jasper County Board. The nomination passed on a voice vote. Ronald Heltsley was elected Vice-Chair of the Jasper County Board.

Chair pro-tem passed the gavel to chair of board

New Business:

Adoption of 2024-2025 Jasper County Board Meeting Schedule

The proposed schedule is to keep meetings the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Jasper County Office Building County Board Room at 204 West Washington Street, Newton, Illinois. Geier made motion to Adopt the 2024-2025 Jasper County Board Meeting Schedule. Francis seconded the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote. The 2024-2025 Jasper County Board Meeting Schedule was adopted.

Public Comments: None

Board Comments:

Heltlsey thanked everyone for their support as Vice Chair. Geier welcomed the new members.

Chairman's Comments:

Warfel extended his congratulations the newly elected Jasper County Officials. Board Members Eric Spiker, Jessica Schackmann and Austin Francis. Circuit Clerk Jamie Blake, State's Attorney James Treccia, Coroner Jason Meyer, and Supervisor of Assessments Tom Matson. Warfel thanked Judge Miller for swearing our elected officials in.

Points Of Contact

For the 2024-2026 County Board Term, Warfel streamlined the Points of Contact into four main areas: County Government, Public Safety, Judicial, and County Infrastructure.

Eric Spiker and Austin Francis were assigned to the County Government Offices

Jessica Schackmann and Eric Spiker were assigned to the Judicial Government Offices

Doug Weddell, Michael Geier and Ron Heltsley were assigned to the Public Safety Offices & Departments.

AC Pickens & James Judson were assigned to County Infrastructure (Highway Dept. & County Buildings)

Michael Geier, AC Pickens, James Judson and Eric Spiker will remain on the Courthouse Design Committee with Mr. Geier serving as chair.

Warfel asked that all offices and departments stay in regular communication regarding any issues, concerns or general information you want to communicate to the County Board or have communicated from the County Board to your office or department.

Warfel thanked the board for serving as board chair for the last four years and the honor to serve as board chair another 2 years.

Executive/Closed Session - The board did not have an executive session.

Geier moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:14 pm. Pickens seconded the motion. Motion carried on a voice vote. The meeting was adjourned.

The Next Meeting of the Jasper County Board will be Thursday, December 19, 2024, at 6:00 p.m.

Amy Tarr, Jasper County Clerk